March 2012 releases

Over the next few days you’ll be seeing the reviews of my Top Ten of 2011 films.  I’ve tried to catch up on everything released in 2011 that could possibly upset the list, which is why there have been so many recent 2011 reviews.  I won’t be posting reviews for films I saw much earlier in the year upon their release.  However, I will take requests.  So if someone wants to see a review for a 2011 film that isn’t up after the Top Ten of 2011 reaches completion, by all means post something in the comments section and I’ll get a review up for it.  Chances are I’ve already seen it; there were several films in 2011 that I really liked that aren’t on the list and haven’t already received a review from me.

After the Top Ten of 2011, I’ll be putting up reviews for the remaining February releases I intend to review: Safe House, The Secret World of Arrietty, Wanderlust, and Gone.  Those should all be up before the end of the week.  I hope to get to The Perfect Sense once it finally opens in Los Angeles in the next week or two.  The same goes for Tomorrow, When the War Began, which appears to have only opened initially in New York.  I won’t be doing reviews for the new Ghost Rider movie or for Thin Ice.  The former has been so critically lambasted that I’m no longer interested in wasting time watching or reviewing it; I’d hoped it would fall into the so-bad-it’s-fun category of last year’s Drive Angry, but obviously Neveldine and Taylor are just getting more and more incomprehensible, and can’t hit the same kind of over-the-top, ludicrous genre delight of Todd Farmer and Patrick Lussier.  Thin Ice, the more I’ve considered it, just looks to be really trite, cliche indie fare, and not something even Billy Crudup can save.  Again, it’s something I’ve lost interest in reviewing and doesn’t seem to be worth the time.  Occasionally, there will be films where this happens.  However, I’m not adverse to reviewing something at the request of vocal fans, so make your voices heard in the comment section!  Also, there will occasionally be instances where I get dragged to something not on my schedule and end up doing a review for it.

After this recent slate of 2011 films and the upcoming Top Ten of 2011, things are going to slow down a bit with probably about 5 reviews posted a week instead of 2-5 a day.  In the future, I may add in special review projects such as reviewing all the films of selected directors.  I’d certainly be willing to take requests for that as well.  I’ve already seen all the films of Kurosawa, Scorsese, and Spielberg.  One director I have in mind for it, because I’m very interested to see the half of his filmography I haven’t yet watched, is Ingmar Bergman.  I’d go so far as to say that Bergman is my favorite director.

But for now here is what you can expect to see from me during the month of March, by release date:

March 2nd
The Lorax
Project X
The Snowtown Murders
Let the Bullets Fly

March 9th
John Carter
Silent House
Friends With Kids
Salmon Fishing in the Yemen
Footnote

March 16th
Jeff Who Lives at Home
Seeking Justice
Casa de mi Padre
The Kid With a Bike
Detachment

March 23rd
The Hunger Games
The Raid
The Trouble With Bliss
4:44 Last Day on Earth
The Deep Blue Sea

March 30th
Wrath of the Titans
Intruders
Goon

Published in: on February 28, 2012 at 2:51 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://briantoohey.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/march-2012-releases/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

